Marion Miller has kindly sent a copy of her fascinating History of Uplands. Here’s a short extract from the Introduction:
For nearly 100 years Uplands was a gentleman’s country residence owned successively by three different families. After 1956 it began a new existence as a training centre; new buildings were added but the old house remained substantially unaltered. In the early 1980s Uplands was given a new lease of life. The service end of the original house was demolished and the front range became the centre of a radical new development, blending the best of the old with innovative modern design by one of the country’s leading architectural practices. The philosophy extended to the grounds with new landscaping complimenting historic garden features and planting. The recent expansion of the use of the complex to a hotel and conference centre has made Uplands more accessible to a wider audience, enhancing its value as a community asset.
This report covers the history of Uplands during four periods, 1858-1900, 1900-1935, 1935-1956 and 1956 onwards. It then discusses the contribution made by the architects of the buildings and concludes with recommendations for further research, acknowledgements and finally the sources used by the writer.
The full document is here.